10 Ibadan High Chiefs


There are two ruling lines to the throne of Olubadan, Egbe Agba (civil) and Balogun (military); from where Olubadans are appointed on a rotational basis to occupy the stool on the death of a monarch. The next to Olubadan and most senior on both lines are the Otun Olubadan and Balogun, who under the Western Nigeria Law are recognised as second-class traditional rulers and are included on the Nigerian equivalent of a civil list as a result. Others are the Osi Olubadan, Asipa Olubadan, Ekerin, and Ekarun, as well as Otun Balogun, Osi Balogun, Asipa Balogun, Ekerin and Ekarun Balogun, while the Seriki and Iyalode, (“mother of the town”, female chief) are also members of the Olubadan’s privy council.


The 11 high chiefs that formed the Olubadan-in-council, apart from the Seriki and Iyalode, are recognised as the traditional head of each of the 11 LGs in Ibadanland.

Below are the current 10 Ibadan high chiefs who are recognised as future Olubadan:


The Otun Olubadan: Oba Lekan Balogun


Balogun Olubadan: Oba Owolabi Olakulehin


Osi Olubadan: Oba Rashidi Ladoja


Ashipa Olubadan: Oba Eddy Oyewole


Osi Balogun: Oba Tajudeen Ajibola


Ekaarun Olubadan: Oba Amidu Ajibade


Ashipa Balogun Olubadan: Oba Lateef Gbadamosi


Ekarun Balogun‎: Oba Kolawole Adegbola


Ekerin Olubadan‎: Oba Abiodun Kola-Daisi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here