University of Ibadan has been ranked the oldest Nigerian university, located in the ancient city of Ibadan, in western Nigeria and popularly known as “UniIbadan and UI”. The history started with Yaba College, Lagos which was transferred to Ibadan in 1948.

University of Ibadan was founded on its land on the 17th of November, 1948, with the first Prime minister of Nigeria, Rt.Hon. Sir. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa as the first Chancellor of the university and the first vice-chancellor, Kenneth Dike.

The University started out with the faculty of College of Medicine with additional faculties which are Agriculture and Forestry, Arts , Education, Law, Pharmacy, Technology, Social sciences, Veterinary Medicine, Renewable natural resources, Environmental Design and Management.

Other Units in the University of Ibadan are:-

  • The Registry
  • The Bursary
  • Careers Placement and Counselling Unit
  • Foreign Students Unit
  • The Sports Council
  • The Library
  • The Computing Centre
  • The Press
  • The Bookshop
  • The Botanical Garden
  • The Zoological Garden
  • University Media Centre, which houses the campus radio station, DIAMOND 101.1 FM.
  • The Abadina Media Resource Centre
  • Advancement Centre
  • The University Health Services
  • Works and Maintenance
  • Academic Planning
  • Internal Audit



The University provided hall of residence for male and female students- undergraduates and postgraduates. The Halls of residence include:

  • Mellanby hall: This is basically for male undergraduates, located close to the University Senate building. It was the first residential hall in the university, opened on the 17th November, 1952 and named after Kenneth Mellanby, the first principal of University College, Ibadan. The hall is divided into A, B, C and D with the A for freshmen, D for the final year students and the other B and C for stalites. Mellanby overtime, has been awarded the Scholl’s highest Press body.
  • Tedder Hall: A male undergraduate hall, situated adjacent to Mellaby hall.
  • Sultan Bello Hall: This is another Male undergraduate’s hall situated along the path to faculty of Science.
  • Kuti Hall: This hall is occupied by Male undergraduates, situated northward to the famous University Health center, popularly called Jaja.
  • Nnamdi Azikwe Hall: This is a male undergraduate hall, popularly referred as ‘Zik’ Hall also referred as the Heartbeat of the university; located at the end axis of the university. Zik Hall is well known for its heritage called Aroism– an act of making jest of students among themselves and especially the non-resident ones.
  • Independence Hall: Occupied by Male undergraduates, located at the end of El-Kanemi Road. The hall is fondly called “The Republic of Katanga”, was formally opened in 1961, in commemoration of Nigeria’s independence on 1st of October 1960. Independence hall is also regarded as the ‘only living hall’ as against the rest halls with their eponyms dead.
  • Tafawa Balewa Hall: The hall accommodates both male undergraduates and postgraduates
  • Alexander Brown Hall” The hall is located in the College of Medicine campus at the University College Hospital, Ibadan. It accommodates students in the departments of Medicine, Dentistry, Physiotherapy and Medical Laboratory Sciences during their clinical studies.
  • Queen Elizabeth II Hall: This hall is occupied by female undergraduates, the first female hall and was named after Queen Elizabeth II visited the University in February, 1956.
  • Queen Idia: Another female undergraduates’ hall situated along the axis where the present International School, Ibadan (ISI) is located.
  • Obafemi Awolowo Hall: Popularly called ‘Awo”, the biggest hall in the University that now accommodates both undergraduate and postgraduate female students.
  • Abdulsallam Hall: This is also called “New hall” mainly for postgraduate students both Male and Female.

University of Ibadan has an exhaustible list of notable Alumni; among are:

  • Alexander Animalu : Pioneer of solar energy in Nigeria, the only African member to date of the Advisory Board of the Euro-Journal Physic
  • Sadique Abubakar : current Chief of Air Staff of the Nigerian Airforce (NAF)
  • Chinua Achebe: renown novelist, author of internationally acclaimed Things Fall Apart
  • Adiele Afigbo: A Nigerian academic best known as the Doyen of Africanist literary scholars worldwide
  • P.Clark: One of the Africa’s pre-eminent and distinguished Authors.
  • Williams Kumuyi: founder and General Superintendent of Deeper Life Christian Life Ministry
  • Segun Toyin Dawodu: a physician, attorney, academic, and entrepreneur who established the first website on socio-political issues of Nigeria.
  • Kayode Fayemi : The former Governor of Ekiti State, Min of Solid Minerals
  • Michael Omolewa ormer President of UNESCO General Conference and Ambassador of Nigeria to UNESCO.
  • Wole Soyinka: The first African Laureate, he received the first Nobel Prize awarded to an African writer
  • Eddie Mbadiwe: A member of the House of Representative (2011-2015)
  • Ken Saro-Wiwa: a Nigerian writer, TV producer and also named Writer Hero



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here