The Governors of Oyo and  Osun State, Abiola Ajimobi, and Rauf Aregbesola have inaugurated a 10-member technical committee to review the report of the Chief Wole Olanipekun-led visitation panel to the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso.

The Special Adviser to Oyo State Governor, Mr. Yomi Layinka, announced the constitution of the technical committee at a press briefing in Ibadan, on Sunday the 12th of February 2017. Layinka added that the committee was given two weeks for the assignment.

The visitation panel, which was set up by the two LAUTECH owner states on October 19, 2016, to examine factors responsible for and to recommend solutions to the perennial crisis at the institution, had submitted its report to the governors, in Ibadan, on Friday the  10th of February 2017.

The panel, had among other recommendations, implored the two states to inject fresh fund to the university to accelerate resumption of academic activities pending the implementation of its far-reaching recommendations.

Layinka further declared that the technical committee would be headed by the Chief of Staff to Oyo State governor, Dr. Gbade Ojo and that the Director, Higher Education in the states Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Mr. Kunle Adeosun, would serve as the secretary. According to the Statement from Layinka:

, “Arising from a meeting of the governors of Oyo and Osun States in Ibadan, on Friday, the visitors agreed to set up a Technical Committee to produce a draft White-Paper on the Visitation Panel’s report submitted to the two owner states on February 10, 2016.

The committee, whose membership cut across both states, was mandated to take a critical look at the recommendations of the visitation panel, and review whatever inadequacies it might contain.

The committee was also saddled with the task of suggesting pragmatic recommendations for the reopening of the institution and its sustainability, without necessarily bringing financial burden to the owner states.

In addition to these, the two governors have also concluded arrangement to engage an international management consulting firm to look into the management structure of the institution and its finances, with a view to offering long term sustainable recommendations to the two owner states.”

Other members representing Oyo State on the technical committee are the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Seun Abimbola; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Mr. David Olatunde; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Mrs. Aderonke Makanjuola; and Chairman, Oyo State House of Assembly Committee on Education, Hon. Afeez Adeleke.

Those representing Osun State on the committee are a former Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Office, Mr. Obafemi Akinyele; Permanent Secretary, Ministry. of Finance, Mr. Adebimpe Ogunlumade; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Mr. Sunday Olajide; and Chairman, Osun State House of Assembly Committee on Education, Hon. Folorunsho Bamisayemi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here