Things did not go well at the last sitting of the Oyo State House of Assembly, the Speaker of the House , Rt. Hon. Olagunju Joshua Ojo reshuffled the House committee lists which saw members from the opposition party and loyalists of the Deputy Speaker taking new committees.

Members of the opposition, especially those from the Unity Forum who are chairmen of committees often regarded as ‘Juicy Committee’ were removed and replaced with members from the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC loyal to the speaker. gathered that Honourable Bolaji Badmus (Akinyele II) who is Chairman for Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters committee was replaced with Hon. Safiu Olalere (Ido). Bolaji Badmus was however, given chairman, Solid Minerals.

Also, Hon. Afeez Adeleke (Iseyin/ Itesiwaju) was replaced with Hon. Solomon Akande (Ogbomoso South) as chairman of House Committee on Education. Hon. Afeez was given Justice Committee to chairman.

Hon. Gbenga Oyekola (Atiba) was replaced with Hon. Joshua Oyebamiji (Akinyele 1) as chairman of Security and Special Duties committee

Hon Muyideen Olagunju (Oyo East/Oyo West) was removed as chairman, House Committee on Public Petition. also gathered that those removed from these “juicy committee” chairmen are loyal to the Deputy Speaker of the House. Many of them were earlier reported set to dump the APC to join the African Democratic Congress (ADC) .

Olagunju became speaker few months ago following the death of Hon. Adesina Michael Adeyemo, who was speaker from 2015 till he died in April, 2018.

Olagunju contested the speakership and emerged unopposed as against many people’s expectation that the Deputy Speaker should be the new speaker. While Olagunju, then Minority Leader as he was elected under Labour Party, LP, emerged as the speaker, Musah of the All Progressives Congress, APC, retains his Deputy Speakership seat.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here