The number of Senior Advocates of Nigeria increased on Monday the 19th of September 2016,  to four hundred and fifty one (451) with the conferment of the prestigious title on twenty two (22) outstanding lawyers.

   The new SANs were inaugurated by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Mahmud Mohammed, at a special session of the Supreme Court in Abuja to mark the commencement of the 2016-2017 legal year.

The new Senior Advocates of Nigeria  include Olaseni Adio, son of former Chief Judge of Oyo State, Yekini Adio, and the Director-General of the Nigerian Law School, Olanrewaju Onadeko.

 131 lawyers applied for the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria this year, but only fifty five (55) including four women, were shortlisted for  final interview. Twenty two (22) of the lawyers in the final shortlist were elevated to the coveted rank, the highest in the Nigerian legal system.

Out of the twenty two (22) new SANs,  nineteen (19) came from the advocate category while three were from the academics. Only two women were elevated to SAN this year.

Other beneficiaries were Abdulhakeem Uthman Mustapha, lawyer to the Governor of Kaduna State, Nasir el-Rufai; Nnamonso Udo Ekanem; Prof. Muhammed Tabiu; Secretary of the 2014 National Conference, Dr. Valerie-Janette Ogonna Azinge and Olufunke Abimbola Agbor.
Also named were Olusola Ojutalayo; Richard Akintunde; Oyesoji Oyeleke; James Njeze Ikeyi; Yakubu Kurah; Adewunmi Ogunsanya; Olatubosun Olanipekun; Kalu Umeh and Adewale Adesokan.

Others are Fredson Alexander Okoli; Olasheni Ibiwoye; Abdulhakeem Mustapha; Mba Ekpezu; Edward Pwajok and Prof. Chukwu Omaka





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here