Lukman Balogun,The  Candidate of the Labour Party  was on Sunday declared the winner of the Saturday 20th of August 2016  bye-election for the Oorelope State Constituency of Oyo State. Balogun
was declared winner of the election after he polled 6,122 votes.

The newly elected state lawmaker was a former caretaker Committee Chairman of Oorelope Local Government Area.

  Jimoh Gbadamosi of the All Progressives Congress, APC,  was the runner up to Balogun as he  polled 4,148 votes, while candidate of the Accord Party, Solomon Olabisi, polled 2,123 votes.

The election was conducted to fill the vacancy created in the Oyo State House of Assembly sequel to the murder of Hon. Gideon Aremu, who was also elected  on the platform of the Labour Party.

Gideon Aremu was shot dead in front of his Alakia, Ibadan home on July 1 by armed robbers, who have since been apprehended by the police.

Reacting to his declaration as winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Balogun thanked the commission and his supporters.
He said: “The surprising thing in this election is that we (LP) defeated them (APC) with 1,996 during the poll that returned the late Hon. Aremu and today, we have posted a similar margin.

“We had 1,974. It shows that the people of  Oorelope State Constituency believe in us and we will not let them down.”

The Oyo State House of Assembly is  made up of eighteen (18) members elected on the platform of the APC, eight (8) produced by the Accord Party and one (1) from the LP.

The Labour Party intially  had six members in the state assembly, but five of them have   defected to the  ruling All Progressives Congress.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here