Niger College Junior School, Benin, Edo State, and Asegun Comprehensive Secondary School, Ibadan, Oyo State, have qualified for the national finals of the Etisalat U-15 School Cup football competition after emerging as champions at the Ibadan Centre.

The Edo and Oyo teams overcame schools from Ekiti, Ondo, Lagos, Ogun and Osun states at the Lekan Salami Stadium, Adamasingba and Wesley College Playing Ground, Elekuro, to win the tickets for the national finals billed for Lagos in November 2016.

Oyo defeated Osun 1-0 with a solitary strike from Abdul Rasheed Qudus in their first game before walloping Ogun 5-1 in their second game with Qudus grabbing a brace and providing two assists before edging Lagos 1-0 in their last game.

Impressive Edo won their section without losing a game  after successive victories over Delta, Ondo and Ekiti states, and scoring eight goals and conceding just one.

Meanwhile, schools from Kwara, Kogi, Nasarawa, Niger, Plateau, Benue and Cross River states, as well as the Federal Capital Territory, will battle for the two slots available at the Ilorin regional qualifiers, which began on Monday the 17th of October 2016 at the Ilorin Stadium.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here